Commonwealth Bank
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out


Since 1930, Australian domestic women’s cricket teams have contested 80 titles. Of these Victoria has won 41, NSW 32, South Australia 6 and Western Australia 1.

Women’s national championships played over a two-week ‘carnival’ were first held in 1930-31.

From the 1996-97 season the format changed, and the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) was established. With this change the competition introduced a home and away league concluding with a finals series. Season 2002-03 marked the VicSpirit’s first WNCL title. They followed this with another title in 2004-05.

In season 2015-16, the inaugural Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) begun, with Victoria fielding two sides, the Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades. The VicSpirit continued to play in the WNCL, but the WT20 competition was dissolved.

Victoria has had some of Australia’s best female cricketers including, but not limited to Melanie Jones, Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Margret Jennings and Una Paisley. Three Victorians – Meg Lanning, Molly Strano and Kristen Beams – currently represent Australia in the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad.

Click here to view a full list of Victorian Senior Player Cap Numbers

Sharon Tredrea Award Winners
Victorian One-Day Player of the Season

2016-17: Meg Lanning
2015-16: Meg Lanning
2014-15: Meg Lanning
2013-14: Sarah Elliott
2012-13: Meg Lanning
2011-12: Meg Lanning
2010-11: Rachael Haynes
2009-10: Sarah Elliott
2008-09: Sarah Edwards
2007-08: Sarah Edwards
2006-07: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2005-06: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2004-05: Belinda Clark
2003-04: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2002-03: Belinda Clark
2001-02: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2000-01: Charmaine Mason
1999-00: Charmaine Mason
1998-99: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
1997-98: Charmaine Mason
1996-97: Zoe Goss
1995-96: Cathryn Fitzpatrick
1994-95: Stephanie Theodore
1993-94: Julie Calvert
1992-93: Cathryn Fitzpatrick

Cathryn Fitzpatrick Award Winners
Victorian Twenty20 Player of the Season

2014-15: Meg Lanning
2013-14: Elyse Villani
2012-13: Elyse Villani
2011-12: Meg Lanning
2010-11: Meg Lanning
2009-10: Sarah Elliott

*Following the 2014-15 season, the Women’s Twenty20 league was dissolved and replaced by the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL).