Commonwealth Bank
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

Lanning to captain first ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup

Victorians Meg Lanning and Kristen Beams have been named in the final 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in England and Wales, beginning on June 23, 2017.

It will also be the first time Lanning will captain the side in a World Cup of this format, having already led to the side in two World Twenty20 tournaments, including a win back in 2014.

Following selection of the squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “This is going to be one of the most tightly contested World Cups in recent times and we have chosen 15 players that we believe are capable of leading Australia to victory.

“This is an incredibly exciting time for this team, with the chance to stake their claim as one of the most successful sporting teams in Australian sport.”

Australia will begin their quest for a record seventh World Cup on June 26 against the West Indies at The County Ground, Taunton.

England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Australia in the tournament with each side to face off against the other seven nations concluding with semi-finals at Bristol and Derby before the final at Lords on July 23.

Australia are the defending champions having won a record sixth World Cup in 2013 after defeating the West Indies by 114 runs in the final in India.

Australia’s World Cup schedule
June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton
June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol
July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol
July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester
July 9: Australia v England, Bristol
July 12: Australia v India, Bristol
July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton
July 18: First semi-final, Bristol
July 20: Second semi-final, Derby
July 23: Final, Lord’s

Australia’s World Cup squad
Sarah Aley -NSW
Kristen Beams – VIC
Alex Blackwell – NSW
Nicole Bolton – WA
Ashleigh Gardner – NSW
Rachael Haynes – NSW
Alyssa Healy – NSW
Jess Jonassen – QLD
Meg Lanning (C) – VIC
Beth Mooney – QLD
Ellyse Perry – NSW
Megan Schutt – SA
Belinda Vakarewa – NSW
Elyse Villani – WA
Amanda-Jade Wellington – SA