Jess Cameron wins Belinda Clark Award

Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit superstar Jess Cameron was awarded the Belinda Clark Award for best international player last year at last night's Allan Border Medal.

Cameron, who became the first Victorian to win the Award since VicSpirit coach Cathryn Fitzpatrick prevailed in 2004, narrowly defeated teammate Meg Lanning by five votes.

The highlight of Cameron's season came in the World Twenty20 final against England in October when she was named Player of the Final after she top-scored with 45 (34).

"It's an absolute honour to win the Belinda Clark Award, with greats like Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Shelley Nitschke, Karen Rolton and Lisa Stahalekar winning beforehand," Cameron said.

"It's been a big 12 months for the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars winning the Twenty20 World Cup and now being in India trying to get the 50 over trophy.

Cameron played 15 matches during the voting period and hit 525 runs, at an average of 52.5, while Lanning amassed 768 runs at an average of 51.20.

The powerful right hander smashed 414 runs for VicSpirit this season, including a record-breaking 128 against the SA Scorpions in which she reached her century from just 56 deliveries.

Cameron and Lanning, along with VicSpirit teammates Julie Hunter and Elyse Villani, will be in action this afternoon when the Southern Stars take on New Zealand in the ICC World Cup.  

Women's International Player of the Year - Top 3

Jessica Cameron 41 votes
Meg Lanning 36
Lisa Sthalekar 26

Previous Winners

2002- Karen Rolton
2003- Karen Rolton
2004- Cathryn Fitzpatrick
2005- Karen Rolton
2006- Karen Rolton
2007- Lisa Sthalekar
2008- Lisa Sthalekar
2009- Shelley Nitschke
2010- Shelley Nitschke
2011- Shelley Nitschke
2012- Shelley Nitschke


Connect with the VicSpirit on Facebook


Keep up to date with the latest news


Follow the VicSpirit on Twitter