VicSpirit clinch title

VicSpirit won the Women's T20 title with a thrilling victory over the NSW Breakers.

VicSpirit have clinched their third straight Women's Twenty20 title after a 10-run upset win over arch rivals NSW Breakers in the final at Etihad Stadium on Thursday.

VicSpirit won the toss and batted and thanks to a half century to Jess Cameron compiled 7-143 from their 20 overs.

It proved to be enough with the NSW Breakers restricted to 9-134.

It's a heartbreaking loss for the NSW Breakers who entered the decider undefeated after dominating the 2011/12 competition.

The chase went down to the last ball with Alex Blackwell scoring 41 from 43 balls and Sarah Coyte contributing 34 from 28 to put the visitors in a strong position.

But economical bowling from Danielle Wyatt (3-39) put the brakes on the innings and the boundaries dried up in the final 10 overs when the rope was only reached once.  

The NSW Breakers needed 14 from the final but could only conjure four for the loss of two wickets with VicSpirit right-armer Kath Hempenstall (3-22) ensuring there was nothing easy to hit.

Wyatt was named player of the match after earlier complimenting her match-defining effort with the ball by belting 39 from 38 with the bat as VicSpirit built a competitive target.

She featured in a 91-run stand with Cameron who crushed four fours and two massive sixes on her way to 50 from 39 balls after the hosts earlier lost both openers inside the first three overs.

Coyte led the NSW Breakers attack with 2-20 from four overs however strike bowler Lisa Sthaleker had an off day and conceded 0-29 from four.

The NSW Breakers looked to have the 144-run chase was within sight at 3-117 in the 17th over but the loss of Blackwell, run out attempting a second run, stopped the flow of runs and triggered a flurry of wickets.

Sarah Elliott (1-19) and Emily McIntyre (1-20) were also among the wicket-takers for the winners.

The triumph means VicSpirit remain the only team to claim the Women's Twenty20 championship in its three-year history.

NSW Breakers and VicSpirit will meet again on Sunday in Sydney to contest the final of the 50-over format.


Connect with the VicSpirit on Facebook


Follow the VicSpirit on Twitter


Keep up to date with the latest news