Commonwealth Bank
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

VicSpirit name squad for final round of WNCL

The Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit have named a 13-player squad for the final round of WNCL action this weekend.

Coming off a breakout season in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) for the Melbourne Stars, Annabel Sutherland has been named in the squad and could make her Victorian debut.

The VicSpirit secured their first win of the season in Round 2 against Tasmania at the MCG, and despite three losses in the other fixtures, Head Coach David Hemp says the season has been a success in developing younger squad members.

“Results have been a little disappointing considering that we got ourselves into match winning positions but unfortunately could not follow them through,” said Hemp.

“However, three debutants so far this year in Tayla Vlaeminck, Nicole Faltum and Georgia Wareham will provide additional valuable experience moving forward.

“They’ve developed tremendously well so far, and we look forward to these last two games up in Brisbane to continue that good work which will hold us in good stead ahead of next season.”

Uncapped first year player Rhiann O’Donnell, who was contracted with the Melbourne Renegades this WBBL season, has also been named in the squad.

Kristen Beams will captain the side in both clashes against Queensland and Western Australia at Allan Border Field on Friday, February 16 and Saturday, February 17 respectively.

Live match updates can be followed via

VicSpirit WNCL Round 3 Schedule
Feb 16 – VIC v QLD @ Allan Border Field, 11:00am
Feb 17 – VIC v WA @ Allan Border Field, 11:00am

VicSpirit squad – WNCL Round 3

Kristen Beams (C)
Makinley Blows
Nicole Faltum
Emma Inglis
Alana King
Anna Lanning
Sophie Molineux
Rhiann O’Donnell
Chloe Rafferty
Molly Strano
Annabel Sutherland
Tayla Vlaeminck
Georgia Wareham