Commonwealth Bank
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : $0.00
View Cart Check Out

Women’s national team name changed

Cricket Australia today announced that it will now refer to it’s men’s and women’s international teams in the same manner.

While the Southern Stars will still be used colloquially, it is no longer the official name for the Australian Women’s Cricket Team. From now on, the side will officially be identified as the Australian Women’s Cricket Team. 

The decision was announced to the current Australian Women’s World Cup squad, and members of past World Cup winning teams, at a special function in Brisbane on Saturday night. The evening celebrated the achievements of the teams that won in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005 and 2013.

The Chairman of Cricket Australia, David Peever, said: “This move may appear symbolic, but it does carry considerable weight. Cricket cannot hope to be a sport for all Australians if it does not recognise the power of words, and the respect for women that sits behind such decisions.’’

Mr Peever said the challenge had been issued at an Australian cricket conference last year by leading businesswoman Ann Sherry.

“Ann rightly questioned whether we were walking the talk, whether we understood what it takes to be truly gender neutral, and a sport that is welcoming to women.” 

Social media accounts which use the Southern Stars name will remain, because of their strong following, but the official name and logo will be changed to reflect the new convention.